The Guggenheim and MoMA

I had that Ting Tings song in my head for most of my time in the Guggenheim. Which really wasn’t terribly congruent with what I was looking at.

Image

Image

First, the building itself was an amazing piece of art. James Turrel was having an exhibit there – all about space, light and colour – which was fascinating. I found myself watching the people watching/exploring his work. People and art are funny.

The center of the building had been turned into this – http://www.guggenheim.org/turrell – which was remarkable to watch. The different shades of colours, and the feel of it was so very zen.  Evenyone was lying down on their backs in the room watching. I kept thinking  – I need to remember all these things for design!

There was no photography allowed in the building at all, and the guards watched everyone like hawks in suits, total bummer. There was one thing in particular that I wanted a picture of, it was a Terrel… experience. It was this cavernous room, all white, but the only source of light was a thin strip on one side of the far corner of the wall – floor to extremely high ceiling. The way it cast light in the space was cool, but what I found to be more interesting, and I though was the real art of the design, was the way the people stood in front of it, and the way the light glowed off of them. I don’t think my camera would have done it any justice.

Next I was off to MoMA!

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImage


They had a display of strange and wonderful chairs, which made me think of my friend Anna, and her love of interesting seating.

Image
Image
ImageImage

MoMA was wonderful and had so many incredible pieces from just about anyone you could name from the impressionist era onward.

For the rest of the day I wandered. I went back to my hotel and enjoyed one of my favourite luxuries, a nap. I got up and went out again, just exploring. No agenda, just taking in a little bit of New York. I came back to the hotel before 7. Then I hit the gym, started the laborious task of getting my stuff together.

One more sleep and then it’s back to west coast living tomorrow night.

Leave a comment